Council

The Council is the advisory body of APFNet and also a forum for exchange among APFNet members. The Council comprises representatives from each APFNet member economy/agency and meets once a year to provide advice for APFNet on strategic direction, policies and annual work plans, in line with its Rules of Procedure. APFNet partners and interested stakeholders can join the meetings as observers on request.

Officer
The current Chair and Vice Chair of the Council are Dr Preecha Ongprasert (Thailand) and Dr Sokh Heng (Cambodia) for the period April 2018 to April 2021.
 
 

APFNet Council Representatives and Contact Persons
CR=Council representative, ACR=Alternate CR, CP=Contact Person
Member
Capacity
Name
Position
Contact information
Australia
[AU]

CR

Mr. Jesse Mahoney

Director
International Forest Policy Section
Agvet Chemicals & Forestry Branch
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment

jesse.mahoney@awe.gov.au
Tel: +61-2-6272-2183

ACR

Mr. Neil Garbutt

Assistant Director
International Forest Policy Section
Agvet Chemicals & Forestry Branch
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment

neil.garbutt@awe.gov.au
Tel: + 61-2-6272-4122

CP

Ms. Cleo Riddy

Policy Officer
International Forest Policy Section
Agvet Chemicals & Forestry Branch
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment

cleo.riddy@awe.gov.au
Tel: +61-2-6272-3023

Bangladesh
[BD]

CR

Md. Amir Hosain Chowdhury

Chief Conservator of Forests
Bangladesh Forest Department  

 amirbfd@gmail.com
  ccf.bfd@gmail.com
Tel: +880 2 8181737

CP

Mr. Imran Ahmed

Assistant Chief Conservator of Forests
Development Planning Unit
Forest Department

imranforest@gmail.com;
imranforest@live.com
Tel: +880 2 8181147

Brunei Darussalam
[BN]

CR

Ms. Noralinda Haji Ibrahim

Acting Director of Forestry
Department of Forestry
Ministry of Primary Resources and Tourism

noralinda.ibrahim@forestry.gov.bn
Tel: +673 238 1687 ext. 2108

CP1

Mr. Shahri Hj Hussin

Acting Deputy Director of Forestry
Department of Forestry
Ministry of Primary Resources and Tourism

shahri.hussin@forestry.gov.bn
shahri.hussin@gmail.com
Tel: +673 2381687 ext. 2222

CP2

Ms. Duratul Ain Haji Durani

International relations and NDP Division
Forestry Department
Ministry of Primary Resources and Tourism

duratul.durani@forestry.gov.bn
Tel: +673 2381687 ext. 2223

Cambodia
[KH]

 

CR

Dr. Sokh Heng (Mr)

Director
Institute of Forest and Wildlife Research and Development
Forestry Administration
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

sokhhengpiny@yahoo.com
Tel: +855 12 639 961

CP

Mr. Seab Kimsrim

Official
Institute of Forest Research and Development, Forestry Administration
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries

kimsrim71@gmail.com
Tel: +855 17 541415

Canada
[CA]

CR

Mr. Jeff Biggs

Director
Trade and International Affairs, Natural Resources Canada-Canadian Forest Service

jeff.biggs@canada.ca

CP1

Mr. Talha Sadiq

Policy Analyst, Trade and International Affairs,Natural Resources Canada, Canadian Forest Service

talha.sadiq@canda.ca

CP2

Ms. Christa Mooney

Policy Advisor, International Affairs Division, Canadian Forest Service | Natural Resources Canada

christa.mooney@canada.ca

P.R. China
[CN]

CR

Mr. MENG Xianlin

Director General
Department of International Cooperation, National Forestry and Grassland Administration

sixian_zheng@126.com
Tel: +86 10 84238916

CP

Mr. ZHENG Sixian

Program Officer, Division for International Affairs, Department of International Cooperation, National Forestry and Grassland Administration

sixian_zheng@126.com
Tel: +86 10 84238916

Fiji[FJ]

CR

Mr. Manasa Luvunakoro

Executive Director, Forestry Operations and Services, Ministry of Forestry,Fiji

mluvunakoro@gmail.com;
manasa.luvunakoro@govnet.gov.fj
Tel: +679 3322 380;
+679 9966 806

CP

Mrs. Sanjana Lal

Conservator of Forests
Ministry of Forests, Fiji

lal.sanjana@gmail.com
Tel: +679 3301611

Hong Kong, China[HK]

CR

Mr. LAI Chuen Chi, Patrick

Assistant Director (Country & Marine Parks)
Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department

patrick_cc_lai@afcd.gov.hk
Tel: +852 2150 6606

CP

Mr. HUNG Tun Hei, Tony

Country Parks Officer (Vegetation Management)
Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department

tony_th_hung@afcd.gov.hk
Tel: +852 2150 6812

India
[IN]

CP1

Dr. Ranjana Gupta

Chief Conservator of Forests (Wetlands)
Ministry of Environment & Forests
Government of India

ranjanagupta2001@yahoo.com
Tel: +91 11 2436 0549;
+91 11 2436 0704

CP2

Mr. Noyal Thomas

IFS, IGF, Project Elephant, Forest Policy O/o IGF (NT)
Ministry of Environment, Forests & Climate Change
Government of India

igf.fp-mef@gov.in; n.thomas15@gov.in
Tel: +91 11 24695249

Indonesia
[ID]

CR

Mr. Helmi Basalamah

Director General of Extension and Human Resource Development Agency
Ministry of Environment and Forestry

helmibsl@yahoo.com
Tel: +62 81316597543(M)

CP1

Mr. Sudayatna

Director of Extension and Human Resource Development Secretariat Agency
Ministry of Environment and Forestry

sudayatna@gmail.com
Tel: +62 8112633811 (M)

CP2

Dr. Gun Gun Hidayat

Head of Program Cooperation Division, Secretariat of  
Extension and Human Resources Development Agency
Ministry of Environment and Forestry

gun2hidayat@gmail.com
Tel: +62 85719336352 (M)

Lao PDR
[LA]

CR

Mr. Somsack Sysomvang

Deputy Director of Village Forest and NTFP Management Division
Department of Forestry
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

sysomsack@yahoo.com
Tel: +856-21-215001

CP

Mr. Airyai Vongxay

Technical Officer
Village Forest and NTFP Management Division
Department of Forestry
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry

airyaivxf9@gmail.com
Tel: +856-21-215001

Malaysia
[MY]

CR

Ms. Norham binti Abdul Latip

Undersecretary
Biodiversity and Forestry Management Division,
Ministry of Water, Land and Natual Resouces

norsham@kats.gov.my
Tel: +603 8886 1443

CP1

Mr. Muhammad Wahyudi bin Othman

Principal Assistant Secretary, Biodiversity Management and Forestry Division, Ministry of Water, Land and Natural Resources

wahyudi@kats.gov.my
Tel: +603- 8886 1796

CP2

Mr. Chan Choon Keat

Principal Assistant Secretary
Biodiversity and Forestry Management Division,
Ministry of Water, Land and Natural Resources

chan@kats.gov.my
Tel: +603- 8886 1796

Mexico
[MX]

CR

Mr. Jorge Leon Castaños-Martinez

Director General
National Forestry Commission

directorgeneral@conafor.gob.mx

CP1

Ms. Taryn Sanchez Montesinos

Head of the International Affairs and Financing Development Unit
National Forestry Commission (CONAFOR)

taryn.sanchez@conafor.gob.mx;
cooperacion.uaiff@gmail.com
Tel: +52(33)3777-7000 ext. 1700

CP2

Ms. Vanessa Carolina Becerra Alvarez

Assistant Director of International Cooperation
National Forest Commission (CONAFOR)

vanessa.becerra@conafor.gob.mx
vanessa.c.becerra@gmail.com
Tel: +52(33)3777-7000 ext. 1721

Mongolia
[MN]

CR

Dr. Oyunsanaa Byambasuren(Mr)

Director General
Forestry Policy and Coordination Department
Ministry of Environment and Tourism of Mongolia

oyunsanaa@mne.gov.mn
oyunsanaa@gmail.com

Tel: +976-99081104

CP

Prof. Baatarbileg Nachin(Mr,Dr )

Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences of the National University of Mongolia

dean@seas.num.edu.mn
baatarbileg@seas.num.edu.mn
Tel: +976 77307730 exit 3100

Myanmar
[MM]

CR

Dr. Nyi Nyi Kyaw

Director General
Forest Department
Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation

nnkforest@gmail.com, irfdmyanmar@gmail.com
Tel: +95-67-3405407/5477

CP 1

Mr. Aung Thu

Director of Forest Research Institute and also Project Director of Integrated Forest Ecosystem Management Planning and Demonstration Project in Greater Mekong Sub-region-Myanmar

aungthu.87@gmail.com, friyezinfd@gmail.com
Tel: +95-67-3416523

CP2

Dr. Ei Ei Swe Hlaing (Mr)

Assistant Director
Forest Research Institute
Forest Department, Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation

eieiswehlaing@gmail.com
Tel: +95-67-416524

Nepal[NP]

CR

Dr. Prakash Lamsal

Joint secretary and Chief
Planning Monitoring and Coordination Division
Ministry of Forests and Environment Government of Nepal

pplamsal@yahoo.com
Tel: +9779860330217

CP

Mr. Sagar Kumar Rimal

Under Secretary (tech.)
Development Cooperation Coordination Section
Ministry of Forests and Environment Government of Nepal

sagar.rimal@nepal.gov.np; 
rimalsagar@yahoo.com
Tel: +977 01 4211862/
+977 9841338030

New Zealand
[NZ]

CR

absent

 

 

CP

absent

 

 

Papua New Guinea[PG]

CR

Ms. Ruth Turia (Dr)

Director
Forest Policy and Planning
National Forest Service
PNG Forest Authority

rturia@pngfa.gov.pg
turia.ruth@gmail.com
Tel: +675 3277 874

CP

Mr. Tunou Sabuin

Managing Director
Office of The Managing Director
National Forest Service
PNG Forest Authority

TSabuin@pngfa.gov.pg
Tel: +675 3277 841

Peru[PE]

CR

Mr. Jose Alberto Muro Ventura

Deputy Executive Director, National Forest and Wildlife Service (SERFOR)

 jmuro@serfor.gob.pe

CP

Ms. Carola Gabriela Peralta Carrera

Director of the Office of International Cooperation, National Forest and Wildlife Service (SERFOR)

cperalta@serfor.gob.pe
Tel: +51 1 2259005 ext. 1331

The Philippines
[PH]

CR

Ms. Lourdes C. Wagan

OIC Director
Forest Management Bureau
Department of Environment and Natural Resources

fmb@denr.gov.ph
Tel: 02-8927-4788

CP

Ms. Edna D. Nuestro

OIC, Assistant Director, Forest management bureau, Dept. of Environment & Natural Resources

denrfb.ad@gmail.com, andii_23@yahoo.com, fmbplanning@gmail.com
Tel: +632-8927-4784

Singapore
[SG]

CR

Ms. Wendy Yap

Director
International Biodiversity Conservation Division
National Parks Board

WENDY_YAP@nparks.gov.sg

CP1

Mr. Hassan Ibrahim

Deputy Director
International Relations
National Biodiversity Centre  National Parks Board

HASSAN_IBRAHIM@nparks.gov.sg
Tel: +65 64651676

Sri Lanka
[LK]

CR

Mr. Nishantha Edirisinghe

Deputy Conservator of Forests (Silviculture & Forest Management)
Forest Department

eapnishantha@yahoo.com eapnedirisinghe@gmail.com(new)
Tel: +94 11 2885693

CP

absent

 

 

Chinese Taipei[CT]

CR

Mr. Frank Lin, Wha-Ching

Director-General
Forestry Bureau
Council of Agriculture
Chinese Taipei

franklin@forest.gov.tw
Tel: +886-2-23515441 ext:301

CP1

Ms. Mu-Tzu Yu

Associate Technical Specialist
Forest Planning Division
Forestry Bureau
Council of Agriculture
Chinese Taipei

m3109@forest.gov.tw
mutzuyu1025@gmail.com
Tel: +886-2-23515441 ext:607

CP2

Ms. Hsiu-Chuan Huang

Section Chief of Planning Section, Forest Planning Division, Forest Bureau, Council of Agriculture
Chinese Taipei

a_jane@forest.gov.tw
ajaneskype@gmail.com

Thailand
[TH]

CR

Mr. Sapol Boonsermsuk

Director of International Forestry Cooperation Division
Planning and Information Technology Bureau
Royal Forest Department

smit98@hotmail.com
Tel: +66 8 1312 1368(M)

CP

Dr. Preecha Ongprasert(Mr)

Director of International Convention and Commitment Division,
International Forestry Cooperation Office
Royal Forest Department, Thailand

preecha_ong@yahoo.com
Tel: +66-2561-4292-3 ext. 5034

United States of America
[US]

 

CR

Ms. Catherine J Karr-Colque

Division Chief, Forests
Office of Conservation and Water
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs
U.S. Department of State

Karr-ColqueCJ@state.gov

CP

Absent

 

 

ACP

Mr. Luke D. Thompson

Foreign Affairs Officer
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, Office of Conservation and Water (OES/ECW), Department of State, Rm 2657 HST

thompsonld@state.gov
Tel: +202-647-0658 

Viet Nam
[VN]

CR

Dr. Ha Thi Mung

Director of Department of Science, Technology and International Cooperation, Viet Nam Administration of Forestry, Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development

munght.In@gmail.com
Tel: +84912519212(M)

CP

Mr. Luu Tien Dat

Senior Official, Department of Science, Technology and International Cooperation Viet Nam Administration of Forestry
Ministry of Agricultural and Rural Development (MARD)

tdatluu@gmail.com luutiendat28@gmail.com
Tel: +84-4-38489854

FAO

CP

Mr. Thomas Hofer

Senior Forestry Officer
Group Leader Natural Resources Management
Secretary Asia-Pacific Forestry Commission
FAO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific

Thomas.Hofer@fao.org
Tel: +66 2 697 4139

ITTO

CR

Dr. Gerhard Dieterle(Mr)

Executive Director

dieterle@itto.int
oed@itto.int

CP

Mr. Li Qiang

Market/Systems Analyst

li@itto.int
Tel: +81-45-223-1110

RECOFTC

CR

Dr. David Ganz

Executive Director

david.ganz@recoftc.org
Tel: +66 2 9405700

CP

Ms. Pimparkarn Serithammarak

Executive Secretary

pimpakarn@recoftc.org
Tel: +66 (0)2 940 5700 Ext. 1217

SPC

CR

absent

 

 

CP (For timebeing)

Mr. Jalesi Mateboto

Community Forestry Technician/Project Technical Officer

JalesiM@spc.int
Tel: +679 3379330

TNC

CR

Ms. Allison Lewin

Program Manager
Responsible Asia Forestry and Trade (RAFT)

alewin@TNC.ORG





 
Decisions
2nd Meeting of the Council
3rd Meeting of the Council
4th Meeting of the Council
5th Meeting of the Council